Mount Britton (originally Britten) was a gold-mining town in the Mackay region, 65 km west of Sarina. The topographic mount (727 m) was named by William Landsborough in 1856, apparently after an acquaintance, James Britton. It is a few kilometres west of the former town, which is on Oaky Creek where alluvial gold was discovered in 1881. Within a short time of the discovery there were six hotels in Mount Britton, catering to an estimated 1500 people. There were also several stores, butchers, bakers and a school of arts hall.

A post office was opened in 1883 and a town was surveyed the following year. By then the best of the easy gold had been won, and only two hotels remained by 1885. A state school was opened in 1882, lasting until 1906. The post office closed in 1912. The town was described in the 1903 Australian handbook:

As former mining towns go, Mount Britton's landscape is relatively undisturbed, and the town has a picturesque setting with the creek and mountain ranges. Remains of buildings and relic garden trees mark the site. The surrounding country is used for grazing.

Mount Britton's census populations have been:

census date population
1881 300
1891 1500
2006 255
2011 346

Lyall Ford, Below these mountains: the adventures of John Henry Mills, Freshwater, Taipan Press, 2001

George A. Mayes, Behold Nebo: a history of Nebo Shire, Glenden, R and R Publications, 1991

Headwords: 
Copyright © Centre for the Government of Queensland, 2018. All rights reserved.
UQ Logo