Atherton Shire and Tableland

Atherton Shire, an area of 623 sq km, and generally 40 km south-west of Cairns, was amalgamated with Eacham, Herberton and Mareeba Shires in 2008 to form Tablelands Regional Council. It is bounded to the north-east by the Tinaroo Range and the south-west by the Nelson Range. Mount Bartle Frere and the coastal Bellenden Ker Range put the shire and the Tableland in a minor rain shadow. To the west are extensive folding ranges which continue the Great Dividing Range.

Further Reading: 

Tableland visitors guide to the Cairns hinterland, Atherton, The Tablelander, annual, nd

Anne Statham, Cows in the vine scrub: a history of dairying on the Atherton Tableland, Malanda, Malanda Dairyfoods, 1998

Queensland Government Tourist Bureau, Tablelands of north Queensland, Atherton and Evelyn Tablelands and Oswalds's Track (Returned Soldiers' Settlement), Brisbane, The Bureau, 1918

Tall timber and golden grain, Atherton 1885-1985, Atherton, Atherton Centenary Committee, 1985

Edwina Toohey, From bullock team to puffing billy: the Atherton Tableland and its hinterland: Aborigines and settlers 1860s to 1994, Rockhampton, Central Queensland University Press, 2001

Atherton, Tinaroo, Tolga and Wet Tropics entries

Copyright © Centre for the Government of Queensland, 2018. All rights reserved.

UQ Logo