Livingstone Shire

Livingstone Shire, an area of 11,150 sq km and immediately north and north-west of Rockhampton, was amalgamated with Rockhampton City, Mount Morgan Shire and Fitzroy Shire in 2008 to form Rockhampton Regional Council. In 2013 former residents of Livingston Shire voted for de-amalgamation.

Further Reading: 

Leo Carpenter, Livingstone: a history of the Shire of Livingstone, Boolarong Publications for Livingstone Shire Bicentennial Community Committee, 1991

D.R.F. West, Livingstone Shire handbook, Queensland Department of Primary Industries, 1971

Tom Hearn, From the bush to the bay: a pictorial history of Livingstone Shire, Rockhampton, Central Queensland University Press, 2005

Canoona, Cawarral, Emu Park, Keppel Bay Area, Kinka Beach, Mount Chalmers, Taranganba, Yeppoon and Yeppoon Suburbs entries


Copyright © Centre for the Government of Queensland, 2018. All rights reserved.

UQ Logo