Mount Isa Shire and City

Mount Isa Shire was formed in 1963 by the amalgamation of Mount Isa with Barkly Tableland Shire and part of Cloncurry Shire. The municipality was raised to city status in 1968. Mount Isa township accounts for most of the municipality's population, but the municipal area of 43,343 sq km contains several natural features and the distant town of Camooweal, 10 km from the Northern Territory border. Camooweal was the administrative centre of Barkly Tableland Shire.

Further Reading: 

Mount Isa and Mount Isa Suburbs entries

Copyright © Centre for the Government of Queensland, 2018. All rights reserved.

UQ Logo