Sugar Regions

Queensland has four coastal sugar-growing regions where average annual rainfall is 1520 mm or more. They are briefly described below, travelling from south to north roughly in accordance with their chronology.

Further Reading: 

Harry Easterby, Queensland sugar industry, Brisbane, Government Printer, c1932

J. Brigden, The story of sugar, Brisbane, Government Printer, 1932

Australian sugar year book, annual 1941- , various publishers


Copyright © Centre for the Government of Queensland, 2018. All rights reserved.

UQ Logo