Torres Shire

Torres Shire is the local government area for Thursday Island, Prince of Wales Island, Hammond Island, Horn Island and parts of the extreme north of Cape York. Before 2002 it also governed Badu, Mer and other islands in Torres Strait.

Further Reading: 

Badu, Bamaga, Horn Island, Murray (Mer) Island and Thursday Island entries


Copyright © Centre for the Government of Queensland, 2018. All rights reserved.

UQ Logo