Bowen Shire

Bowen Shire (21,085 sq km), a grazing, mining and horticultural area was centred on the coastal city of Bowen, midway between Mackay and Townsville. It was formed from the union of Wangaratta Shire and Bowen town in April 1960. In 2008 it was amalgamated with Proserpine Shire to form Whitsunday Regional Council.

Further Reading: 

M.C. Finlay, Bowen Shire handbook, Queensland Department of Primary Industries, 1976

Bowen and Collinsville entries


Copyright © Centre for the Government of Queensland, 2018. All rights reserved.

UQ Logo