Caboolture Shire

Local government began in 1879 with the formation of the Caboolture Divisional Board with authority over the present Caboolture, Kilcoy, Landsborough, Pine Rivers, Redcliffe and part of Maroochy shires. In 1888 the southern areas, Pine Rivers and Redcliffe were made Divisions in their own right and in 1890 the coastal Maroochy Division was created. The remaining sectors, Caboolture, Kilcoy and Landsborough constituted the Caboolture Division, which became a shire in 1903.

Further Reading: 

A trip through time: photographic treasures of Caboolture Shire, Caboolture, Caboolture Shire Council, 2004

Stan Tutt, From spear and musket 1879-1979: Caboolture Centenary, Caboolture Shire Council, 1979

Caboolture, Beachmere, Bellmere, Bribie Island, Burpengary, Deception Bay, Elimbah, Morayfield, Narangba, Ningi, Toorbul, Wamuran and Woodford entries


Copyright © Centre for the Government of Queensland, 2018. All rights reserved.

UQ Logo