Cardwell Shire

Cardwell Shire, an area of 3062 sq km, generally 100 km south of Cairns was amalgamated in 2008 with Johnstone Shire to form Cassowary Coast Regional Council. Its coastal boundary extended southwards from Mission Beach nearly to Lucinda Point (but included islands such as Dunk and Hinchinbrook) and its inland boundary ran roughly along the Cardwell Range. The name came from the town which was named after Edward Cardwell, Secretary of State for Colonies.

Further Reading: 

Dorothy Jones, Cardwell Shire story, Cardwell Shire Council, 1961

Cardwell, South Mission Beach, Tully, Wet Tropics and Wongaling Beach entries


Copyright © Centre for the Government of Queensland, 2018. All rights reserved.

UQ Logo