Dry Tropics

Queensland's wet tropics region is a mountainous chain on the east coast from north of Cooktown to the Paluma Range west of Townsville. Most of the rest, north of Townsville's latitude, is dry tropics. Dry tropics Cape York has average annual rainfall of from 500 to 1500 mm. The northern tip has an average of up to 2000 mm, but higher evaporation and winter drought cause dry conditions.

Further Reading: 

Cape York Peninsula, Ayr, Belyando Shire, Bowen Shire, Cook Shire, Dalrymple Shire and Jericho Shire entries


Copyright © Centre for the Government of Queensland, 2018. All rights reserved.

UQ Logo