Fraser Coast Regional Council

Fraser Coast Regional Council was formed in 2008 by the amalgamation of Hervey Bay City, Maryborough City, Woocoo Shire and the northern part (70%) of Tiaro Shire. The name came into common use in the early 1990s from a combination of Fraser Island and Cooloola Coast. For the origins of those names, see the entries on Fraser Island and Cooloola Shire.

Further Reading: 

Fraser Island, Hervey Bay City, Maryborough and Woocoo Shire entries

Copyright © Centre for the Government of Queensland, 2018. All rights reserved.

UQ Logo