Herberton Shire

Herberton Shire, an area of 9604 sq km with a population of about 5400 people, was generally 90 km west of Mission Beach and 120 km south-west of Cairns. The shire's northern area contained Herberton, Ravenshoe and Mount Garnet along with the former towns of Irvinebank and Tumoulin. Herberton Shire was amalgamated with Atherton, Eacham and Mareeba Shires in 2008 to form Tablelands Regional Council.

Further Reading: 

Janet Crump, Herberton's hundredth 1880-1980, Herberton, Herberton Lions Club, 1980

Herberton Shire handbook, Brisbane, Queensland Department of Primary Industries, 1976

Herberton, Herberton Minerals Area, Mount Garnet and Ravenshoe entries


Copyright © Centre for the Government of Queensland, 2018. All rights reserved.

UQ Logo