Logan City

Logan City adjoins the southern boundary of Brisbane City Council's area, and was formed in 1979 by severances from Albert and Beaudesert Shires. It was named after Captain Patrick Logan who charted the Logan River and whose name was bestowed on Logan Reserve, Loganholme and Loganlea.

Further Reading: 

Joan Starr and Ted Colville, eds, Queensland's Logan: city of growth, Blackburn, Vic, Research Publications, 1984

Robyn Buchanan, Logan: rich in history, young in spirit, Logan, Logan City Council, 1999

Mary Howells, Logan River tinnie trail: a heritage trail along the Logan River, Logan City, Logan City Council, 2003

Mary Howells, Ridge to ridge: recollections from Woodridge to Park Ridge, Logan City, Logan City Council, 2006

Mary Howells, Logan-creating a city: a celebration of 25 years, Logan City, Logan City Council, 2004

The Logan trail (tour notes and map, nd)

Albert Shire, Bahrs Scrub (GC), Bethania (GC), Boronia Heights, Browns Plains, Buccan (BS), Carbrook, Cedar Grove and Cedar Vale (BS), Chambers Flat (BS), Cornubia, Crestmead, Daisy Hill, Eagleby (GC), Edens Landing (GC), Forestdale, Greenbank, Heritage Park, Hillcrest, Holmview (GC), Jimboomba (BS), Kingston, Logan Central, Logan Reserve, Logan Village (BS), Loganholme, Loganlea, Marsden, Meadowbrook, Mount Warren Park (GC), Munruben (BS), New Beith (BS), North and South Maclean, Park Ridge, Regents Park, Rochedale, Shailer Park, Slacks Creek, Springwood, Tanah Merah, Underwood, Waterford West, Windaroo (GC) and Woodridge entries

BS signifies place in Beaudesert Shire before 15 March 2008

GC signifies place in Gold Coast City before 15 March 2008


Copyright © Centre for the Government of Queensland, 2018. All rights reserved.

UQ Logo