Moreton Shire

Moreton Shire, an area of 1813 sq km entirely surrounding Ipswich, was formed in 1917 by the amalgamation of Bundamba, Brassall, Purga and Walloon Shires. Rosewood and Normanby Shires were added in 1949.

Further Reading: 

Joan Starr, Moreton Shire Queensland: discovery and settlement, Tenterfield, NSW, Southern Cross PR and Press Services, 1988

Ipswich entry


Copyright © Centre for the Government of Queensland, 2018. All rights reserved.

UQ Logo