Murilla Shire

Murilla Shire, an area of 6074 sq km, on the western Darling Downs, was amalgamated in 2008 with Dalby Town, three other shires and part of Tiaro Shire to form Dalby Regional Council. Its administrative centre was Miles, 300 km north-west of Brisbane. Miles lies on the Warrego Highway and the Western railway line to Charleville. The shire was named after a pastoral run (1870s) on the east side of the Murilla Creek, and the name was reputedly derived from an Aboriginal word describing a pile of stones.

Further Reading: 

Frank Chalmers, Murilla: the first hundred years, South Brisbane, Toad Show, 2003

Miles entry


Copyright © Centre for the Government of Queensland, 2018. All rights reserved.

UQ Logo