Murray (Mer) Island

Murray or Mer Island is one of three islands known generally as the Murray Group, named in 1791 by Captain E. Edwards, HMS Pandora. They are among the most north-easterly of the numerous islands and cays in Torres Strait, and Murray Island is 120 km from the tip of Cape York.

Further Reading: 

Jeremy Beckett, Torres Strait Islanders: custom and colonialism, Sydney, Cambridge University Press, 1987

Torres Strait Island Regional Council entry

Copyright © Centre for the Government of Queensland, 2018. All rights reserved.

UQ Logo