Noosa Shire

Although dominated in recent decades by the nationally prominent Noosa Heads, Noosa Shire was always more than a one-town Shire. Pomona was the shire's administrative centre from 1910 to 1980, until tourist development drew the shire offices coastwards to the former timber town of Tewantin. Formed in 1910, Noosa Shire was transformed from a rural economy to a mixed economy with a thriving coastal tourism industry by the time it was amalgamated with Caloundra City and Maroochy Shire in March 2008 to constitute the Sunshine Coast Regional Council.

Further Reading: 

Denise Edwards, Country and coast: a history of the development of the Noosa Shire, Noosa Heads, the author, 2001

R.J.L. Adams, Noosa horizons: a history: timber, tradition, tourism, Broadwater, Utreya Publications, 2004

Elaine Brown, Cooloola Coast: Noosa to Fraser Island: the Aboriginal and settlers histories of a unique environment, St Lucia, University of Queensland Press, 2000

Nancy Cato, The Noosa story: a study in unplanned development, Milton, Jacaranda Press, 1979

Michael Gloster, The Shaping of Noosa, Noosa Heads, The Blue Group, 1997

Ailsa R. Dawson, Cooloola: early chronicles of cypress land, Gympie, Reid Printery, 1977

Cooran, Cooroy, Doonan, Kin Kin, Lake Macdonald, Marcus Beach, Noosa Heads, Noosa Hinterland, Noosa Southern Localities, Peregian Beach, Pomona, Sunshine Beach and Tewantin entries


Copyright © Centre for the Government of Queensland, 2018. All rights reserved.

UQ Logo