Rasmussen, a residential suburb, is 14 km south-west of central Townsville. It is bounded on the east and west by the Ross and Bohle Rivers respectively. It was named by Thuringowa Council in 1968 after Jorgen and Bodild Rasmussen, dairy farmers on the Ross River (1871).

Rasmussen was one of four new suburbs that came about as urbanisation spread along the Ross River in the 1970s, beyond Townsville's municipal boundary.


Copyright © Centre for the Government of Queensland, 2018. All rights reserved.

UQ Logo