Rockhampton Regional Council

Rockhampton Regional Council was formed in 2008 by the amalgamation of Rockhampton City and Fitzroy, Livingstone and Mount Morgan Shires. Former residents of the Livingstone Shire voted for de-amalgamation in 2013.

Rockhampton is on the Fitzroy River and is 640 km north-west of Brisbane. It was named by reference to a rocky ford in the river where a wharf was established to transport livestock to southern markets. The 'hampton' was added to signify a town (Old English derivation) and the full name was first used in 1856.

Further Reading: 

Rockhampton, Keppel Bay Area, Fitzroy, Livingstone and Mount Morgan Shire entries

Copyright © Centre for the Government of Queensland, 2018. All rights reserved.

UQ Logo