Sunshine Coast Regional Council

Sunshine Coast Regional Council, an area of 3126 sq km, was formed in 2008 by the amalgamation of Caloundra City, Maroochy Shire, and the Noosa Shire. Its most southerly point is near Glass House Mountains, 65 km north of Brisbane. Its most northerly point, beyond Teewah in the Cooloola National Park, is 85 km north of Glass House Mountains. The Sunshine Coast railway passes through the Regional Council area via Glass House Mountains, Nambour and Cooran. Inland, the Regional Council area includes Kenilworth and Conondale.

Further Reading: 

Sunshine Coast, Caloundra, Maroochy Shire and Noosa Shire entries

Copyright © Centre for the Government of Queensland, 2018. All rights reserved.

UQ Logo