Tabragalba was a local-government division formed in 1879, the forerunner of the Beaudesert Shire (1902). It had an area of over 900 sq miles, extending from Maclean to the border ranges.

Tabragalba is now a rural district immediately east of Beaudesert township. It was named after the Tabragalba pastoral station (1843), and the name is thought to have derived from an Aboriginal expression describing a mythical nulla nulla.

Further Reading: 

Beaudesert Shire entry


Copyright © Centre for the Government of Queensland, 2018. All rights reserved.

UQ Logo