Warroo Shire

Warroo Shire (13,660 sq km) was in south-central Queensland, generally 400 km west of Brisbane and 200 km north of the New South Wales border. It was named after a minor pastoral station in the south of the shire and the neighbouring Balonne Shire. In 2008 Warroo Shire was amalgamated with Roma Town and Bendamere, Bungil and Booringa Shires to form Roma Regional Council.

Further Reading: 

G.O. Armstrong, The Changing Years: a history of the Shire of Warroo incorporating Bendamere Shire history, Fortitude Valley, W.R. Smith and Paterson, 1970

Surat entry


Copyright © Centre for the Government of Queensland, 2018. All rights reserved.

UQ Logo