Mount Morgan Shire

Mount Morgan Shire, an area of 492 sq km south-west of Rockhampton, was formed in 1931 by the amalgamation of Mount Morgan town and parts of Calliungal and Fitzroy Shires (see separate entries). The shire was dominated by Mount Morgan, which even after the end of large-scale mining had 80% of the shire's population.

Further Reading: 

Mount Morgan entry


Copyright © Centre for the Government of Queensland, 2018. All rights reserved.

UQ Logo